Flathead Lake Music Camp

Educating Young Musicians Since 1985


Flathead Lake Music Camp has been encouraging a love of music since 1985. Many of our students have gone on to become our own camp counselors- as well as teachers of music around the country, and professional musicians around the world!


Inquiries about employment as teachers or counselors should be addressed to David Barr at flatheadlakemusiccamp@gmail.com.

High school staff (subject to change)

  • On-site Camp Director: David Barr, director of bands, Glacier High School, Kalispell, MT
  • Concert band: Matthew King, director of bands, Whitefish High School, Whitefish, MT
  • Jazz band: Samuel McKenzie, Missoula, MT
  • Concert choir: Emily Hackethorn, choir director, Columbia Falls, MT
  • Jazz choir: Emily Hackethorn, choir director, Columbia Falls, MT
  • Flute: Hailey Rasmussen, Missoula, MT
  • Oboe: Olivia Adams, Missoula, MT
  • Bassoon: Dr. Derek Bannasch, bassoon professor, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
  • Clarinet: Greg Young, professor of clarinet, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
  • Saxophone: Cole Bass, band director for East Helena Public Schools, East Helena, MT
  • Trumpet: Nick Barr, Missoula, MT
  • Low Brass: Paul Bruce, Missoula, MT
  • Horn: Elizabeth Schmidt, horn professor, Montana State University, Bozeman
  • Percussion: Sam McKenzie, Missoula, MT
  • Accompanist: Ginny Reese, Kalispell, Montana
  • Counselors: Nick Barr, Paul Bruce, Skyler Genazzi, Shevin Halvorson, Rory Anderson (lifeguard),
    Heidi Holmquist, Kaylee Stecher, Olivia Adams, Nicole Anderson

Middle school staff (subject to change):

  • Middle School Week Camp Director: Sara Croghan, Bozeman, MT
  • Concert Band: Derek Bannasch, Bozeman, MT
  • Concert Choir: Sara Croghan, Bozeman, MT
  • Jazz Band: Brandon Boone
  • Flute: Nicole Anderson, Bozeman, MT
  • Clarinet: Terry Knowles, Great Falls, MT
  • Saxophone: Brandon Boone
  • Oboe/Bassoon: Derek Bannasch, bassoon teacher, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
  • Trumpet: Skyler Genazzi, Missoula, MT
  • Horn: Rory Anderson, Missoula, MT
  • Low Brass: Paul Bruce, Kalispell, MT
  • Percussion: Kris Olson, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT
  • Accompanist: Sheri Hand, Kalispell, MT
  • Counselors: Shevin Halvorson, Tristen Jorgenson, Paul Bruce, Kyle Hubbard, Nathan Mayhak, 
    Jack Strizich, Rory Anderson, Nicole Anderson, Josie Libby, Sydney Eastwood, Melody Carhart, Deetya Herman 

Board of Directors:

  • David Barr (Treasurer), Whitefish, Montana
  • Sara Croghan (President), Belgrade, MT
  • Dr. Greg Young, Bozeman, Montana
  • Matt King, Whitefish, MT
  • Dr. Nathan Stark, Bozeman, MT
  • Sheri Hand (Secretary), Kalispell, MT